WORK

BYD|Redefining Car Purchase Global Experience Design

Help BYD Find Breakthrough to Increase Transaction Conversion Rate

In this competitive car market, how BYD redefines its unique service and experience with their competitive advantage of its product. We help BYD reshape brand new brand theory and value from customer experience strategy to implementation, from service design, offline sales experience store to digital program. We user the interaction of people, car and scenario to design customer experience that can reflect the core value of BYD, shape the value recognition between customer and brand, so as to improve conversion rate and turnover rate.

Background and Challenge

Leader of new energy car, the potentiality, opportunity and challenge of BYD

 

As leader of global new energy car technology, BYD products have great development for the past few years. However, despite the competitive advantage of its product, BYD lost some customers for their unsatisfying service experience on purchasing process.

 

 

Data shows that, ninety percent of customers give up on BYD store, which is higher than industry average. Moreover, BYD brand doesn’t have emotional connection with their customer. That’s why even with technology advantage and high quality product, BYD still can touch their customer.

BYD searches for change, they adopt decentralized revolution measures, such as strengthen the training of sales, improve their sales ability, but these measures are not very effective, and the effect can’t last long. So how to face this challenge and put an end to the unfavorable situation? How to improve the intense relations between brand and customer, how to increase customer recognition and increase the turnover rate of purchasing on the store?

 

Insights and Design

Through research and understanding of customer,, start from overall strategy of brand, we figure out, under the advantage of products, improving customer experience is the breakthrough of improving brand sales volume. Only when improve customer experience and satisfy customer’s dual need of pursuing material and spirit can BYD improve conversion rate of 4S store at the root, so as to put an end to original impression of BYD and improve brand experience and competitiveness.

 

Focus on user experience, study user need in-depth

 

| User interviews & Immersive Research
We choose five typical sample cities, including Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Beijing, Shanghai and Hangzhou, to visit their BYD stores and study stakeholder. We discuss with distributors, sales and customers to understand the diversity of consumption group in different city and problems that customers will face during purchasing process. We record every touch point from the first moment that customer connect with BYD, to the whole experience process of before purchasing, purchasing and after purchasing, memorize and study every detail.

 

 

 

| Extract user portrait and user journey map.
At the same time, we choose dozens core users of dynasty series to make 1v1 in-depth interview and collect great amount of data to study relevant user type, explore in-depth user need. After great amount of immense study, we summarize and extract typical user portrait and individually picture the journey map of customer and sales, which helps us to explore the unique customer experience power of BYD.

 

 

Wisdom & Enjoy

 

After in-depth study data of user need and co-create workshop, we finally extract four unique driving factors of BYD, and create “Wisdom & Enjoy” customer experience based on this theory. 

 

 


| Service design principle and goals

Based on it, we start from pain points and need of user journey, extract four principles and goals that can lead the brand
⊙ Four principles: Exceed expectation, reliable, recognition, no need to worry
⊙ Four goals: connection, strengthen experience, cut the breakpoint, continuously care

 

By closing combining four principles and goals of service design, we have carried out a comprehensive and detailed interpretation starting from the concept of "Wisdom & Enjoy" to guide specific design, so that user can experience “Wisdom & Enjoy”service.


The customer journey based on the four principles connects the various touch point of the user during the actual car purchase experience, effectively solving the breakpoints in the original sales process and the emotional lows they bring, creating a pleasant customer journey .

 

 

Global experience design implementation


Concept design and test
Based on the brand concept and service design guidelines that have reached consensus and have achieved initial results, combined with the analysis of competing products in the same industry and the study of related cases in different industries, and thinking about different aspects of car purchase, we have completed 30+ conceptual design solutions And test it in real scenarios and desktop rehearsals. From the perspective of NPS strategy, relationship and transaction, we not only test from the perspective of employees and customers to verify its true usability, but also discuss the implementation with BYD internally. For key touch point, through further usability testing, the design schemes with operability and practical significance are screened.

 

 

Service design blueprint

In order to integrate service experience design into the entire process of customer experience, connecting the front, middle and rear links of car purchase, we sort out the service design blueprint and finally propose a service design experience manual covering every link of the customer journey. In the actual service experience link, starting from the "Wisdom & Enjoy" concept and guidelines, taking the customer experience as the center, the corresponding dealer team should focus on the service links that focus on the four different types of typical users, and cover the entire 20+ detailed service nodes in the customer journey to build a global customer experience service.


After defining the long-term service experience principles and service standards, we extended the brand touch points to information display, digital tools and physical space design, and carried out the design of related service experience tools.

 

 


⊙ Brand information display — Through a brand new brand image, the brand concept of “Wisdom is pleasing to you” is accurately conveyed with clear visual expression. We set out from the " Wisdom is pleasing to you ", give the new image a more futuristic expression, and build a customer’s identity with the brand around the concept of providing customers with pleasant services.


⊙ Digital tools design— It better connects global services both online and offline, and also serves as a service continuation and feedback platform, providing customers with a more professional and smooth experience. The service staff also has more professional auxiliary tools to help present information and data, and make it easier to communicate with customers. We start from the "exclusive, professional, and trustworthy" service standards, and give the platform a more comprehensive, logical, and smooth information presentation, creating a service experience that is beyond expectations for users.

 

⊙ Physical space design — Considering the accessibility, staying possibility, different behavior paths and people’s behavior scenes of the retail experience space, the space dynamics and circulation are designed, and a combination of specific colors, materials and lights is used to create a strong Experiential marketing scenarios that convey the brand concept. At the same time, by strengthening the connection between the physical space and the digital space, the physical guidance system is used to guide people to interact with other contacts and deepen the service experience. Create a better service atmosphere and overall experience with a good space design, combined with the completed intelligent service design, focus on customer experience, and build BYD’s future stores.

 

Summary and outlook

BYD “Wisdom & Enjoy”brand experience strategy was officially released at the Beijing Auto Show on April 25, 2018, and has received internal recognition and positive response from customers. After successively implement customer experience service standards on BYD dealers across the country, the customer experience improved, and ultimately, customer satisfaction and 4S store transaction conversion rates were improved. Data show that starting from July, BYD’s new energy vehicle sales exceeded the volume of gasoline-powered vehicles for the first time. In 2018, BYD vehicles sold a total of 520,687 units, an increase of 23% year-on-year, and new energy vehicles sold 227,152 units, an increase of 108% year-on-year.

We look forward to the future of BYD stores to bring people a new smart car life experience.

En
案例

比亚迪|重新定义购车全局体验设计

为比亚迪4S店提升成交转化率找到最佳突破口

身处激烈的汽车竞争市场,比亚迪在自身产品极具竞争优势的前提下,如何重新定义其独有的服务与体验?我们携手比亚迪,为其重塑全新的品牌理念和价值,从顾客体验策略到设计落地,从服务设计、线下销售体验中心到数字化规划,利用人、车、场景的交互,设计出能体现比亚迪核心价值的客户体验,塑造客户与品牌在价值上的认同感,从而提升转化率和成交率。

背景与挑战

新能源汽车领导者,比亚迪的潜能、机遇与挑战

 

作为全球新能源汽车技术的领导者,比亚迪的产品在近几年里取得了突飞猛进的发展。然而,尽管自身产品极具竞争优势,比亚迪却在实际销售过程中由于服务体验不佳而流失了众多顾客。

 

 

 

数据显示,九成顾客战败环节都发生在店内,高于行业平均水平,且顾客与品牌之间没有产生深度的情感链接。也正因如此,比亚迪的的技术优势与高品质产品未能深入人心。

比亚迪尝试寻求转变,并采取了分散式的改革措施,如加强销售人员培训、提升业务水平等,但持续性弱,仅能在短期内稍见成效。那么,如何才能从根本上改变比亚迪在汽车市场竞争中面临的挑战,扭转其所处的不利局面,从而改善品牌与顾客之间的紧张关系,提升顾客对比亚迪品牌的好感度,同时增加到店顾客的成交转化率?

 

洞察与设计

通过对客户的研究与了解,从品牌的整体策略出发,在产品取得领先的前提下,改善客户体验是提升品牌销量最好的突破口。只有改善顾客对品牌的体验感受,满足用户追求物质和精神双重需求,才能从根本上提升4S店的转化率,从而扭转比亚迪汽车在顾客心中的固有印象,提升品牌体验与竞争力。

 

以用户体验为中心,深入研究用户需求

 

| 用户访谈与沉浸式研究
我们在全国挑选了五个极具代表的样本城市,包括:深圳、广州、北京、上海和杭州,实地走访了这几大城市的比亚迪销售门店,分析利益相关者,与经销商、销售人员以及顾客深入沟通,重点了解各个地域消费人群的差异性、以及顾客在购车体验过程中经常遇到的问题难点,并详细记录用户从第一次与比亚迪接触,到购车前、中、后整个体验旅程中接触的每一个触点,进行巨细无遗的回忆与剖析。

 

 

 

| 提取用户画像与用户旅程图
与此同时,我们精心挑选了几十位王朝系列的核心用户,进行了1对1的深度访谈,收集了大量的一手数据,分析相关的用户类型,发掘深层次的用户需求。经过大量沉浸式的研究,我们概括提取出典型用户画像,并分别总结出客户和销售人员的旅程图,帮助我们进一步发掘独属比亚迪的客户体验驱动力。

 

智在为你,悦享不凡

 

对用户需求与共创式工作坊数据进行深入分析后,我们最终提炼出独属比亚迪的四大驱动性因素,

并以“智·享”为服务理念,打造“智在为你,悦享不凡”的客户体验。

 

 

 


| 服务设计准则与目标


在此基础上,我们从用户旅程的痛点与需求出发,精炼概括出对品牌具有指导意义的四大准则与四个目标:
⊙ 四准则:超预期,可靠,认同,零操心
⊙ 四目标:建立关系,强化体验,除去断点,持续关怀

 

通过将服务设计的四个准则与四个目标紧密结合,我们从“智·享”的理念出发进行了全面详细的诠释以指导具体的设计环节,让用户能更加深刻的体验到 “智在为你,悦享不凡” 的服务。


以四准则为基础的顾客旅程连接起用户在实际购车体验过程中的各个触点,有效解决了原有销售流程中存在的断点及其带来的情绪低点,创造出让人愉悦的客户旅程。

 

 

 


全局体验设计落地


| 概念设计与测试
基于已经达成共识并初见成效的品牌理念与服务设计指导准则,结合对同业竞品的分析及异业相关案例的研究,并针对购车的不同环节进行思考,我们完成了30+概念设计方案,并在实际场景和桌面排演中进行测试。从NPS战略,关系与交易三方面进行考虑,我们不仅分别从员工和客户的角度进行测试,检验其真实的可用性,而且与比亚迪内部共同探讨此后的推行与落实。针对关键触点,则通过进一步的可用性测试,筛选出具有可操作性以及实践意义的设计方案。

 

 

| 服务设计蓝图

为了将服务体验设计融合进客户体验的全流程中,串联起购车的前、中、后各个环节,我们梳理出服务设计蓝图,并在最终提出覆盖客户旅程每一个环节的服务设计体验手册。在实际的服务体验环节,从“智享”理念与准则出发,以客户体验为中心,总结出相对应的经销商团队在面向四类不同典型用户时,应该重点关注的服务环节,并覆盖整个客户旅程中的20+详细的服务节点,深入搭建全局客户体验服务。


在定义好长期的服务体验原则与服务标准后,我们将品牌触点延伸到信心展示、数字化工具和物理空间设计上,并进行了相关服务体验工具的落地设计。

 

 


⊙ 品牌信息展示 — 通过全新的品牌形象,以清晰的视觉表现准确传达出“智在为你,悦享不凡”的品牌理念。我们从“智·享”出发,赋予新形象更具未来感的表现,并围绕为客户提供愉悦的服务这一理念,建立起客户对品牌的认同感。


⊙ 数字化工具设计 — 比亚迪e购平台,比亚迪车主APP/小程序:更好的衔接线上线下全局服务,同时也作为一个服务延续和反馈平台,为客户提供更加专业和流畅的体验。服务人员也因此拥有更多专业的辅助工具,帮助呈现信息与数据,更便于同客户进行交流沟通。我们从“专属的,专业的,信任的”服务准则出发,赋予平台更全面、有逻辑、流畅的信息呈现,为用户创造超预期的服务体验。

 

⊙ 物理空间设计 — 从零售体验空间的可进入性、停留可能性、不同的行为路径以及人们的行为场景进行考虑,对空间动线与流通性进行设计,并以特定的色彩、材料和灯光搭配创造出一个能强化并传达品牌理念的体验式营销场景。同时,通过加强物理空间和数字空间之间的联系,结合物理导视系统引导人们与其他触点产生互动,深化服务体验。以良好的空间设计营造更好的服务氛围和整体体验,结合已完成的智享服务设计,聚焦客户体验,打造比亚迪未来门店。

 

总结与展望

比亚迪“智·享”品牌体验战略于2018年4月25日北京车展上正式发布,获得了内部认同与客户的积极反响。在全国各地比亚迪经销商陆续应用全新的客户体验服务标准后,客户体验有所改善,并最终实现了客户满意度和4S店成交转化率的提升。数据显示,从下半年7月份开始比亚迪新能源汽车销量首次超过燃油车成交量,2018年比亚迪汽车共销售520687辆,同比增长23%,新能源汽车年销227152辆,同比增长108%。

我们期待比亚迪未来门店能给人们带来全新的智能汽车生活体验。