WORK

itel|Mobile Phone Brand Differentiation

Indian Localization Market Research and User Experience Design

itel, a mobile phone brand of Transsion Holdings, is about to enter the Indian market. How to improve the product competitiveness of itel mobile phones and achieve brand differentiation and innovation under the background that many well-known mobile phone manufacturers have successively explored the Indian market?

Background and challenges

India, the new engine of global mobile Internet growth.

 

The report shows that most of the countries with the largest incremental space for mobile Internet in the world are developing countries, which are mainly concentrated in Asia. Among these countries, India’s incremental space has reached 75% and surpassed the US’s 247 million with 325 million mobile Internet users, becoming the world’s second largest mobile Internet market after China.

 

 

Data shows that unlike China’s gradual transition from the Internet era to the mobile Internet era, the majority of Indian users have entered the mobile Internet era directly. 76% of the population owns a mobile device (including a laptop, tablet or mobile phone). Interestingly, smartphone users account for only 16.9 percent of India’s population. As the world’s second largest mobile Internet market, India has more than 300 million Internet users. However, the number of people with access to smartphones remains small and the penetration rate of mobile Internet is still low.

 

As a result, India is the best market for Chinese smartphone companies and mobile Internet companies and has a huge potential market in the field of smart phones.

 

For foreign mobile Internet companies and entrepreneurs, they need to understand the local market environment when they first enter India. It is worth noting that India is a multi-lingual and multi-religious country, with numerous religious celebration parties which increase opportunities for users to communicate and share offline. The background of cultural differences brings many difficulties for brand development. itel was also faced with the problem of not knowing how to create products suitable for the Indian market environment.

 

Therefore, from the perspective of user experience, we conduct an in-depth study on user consumption needs and preferences in the Indian consumer market, so as to help clarify product positioning, play to its strengths and accelerate the process of product localization.

 

Insights and Design

Research on India’s Mobile Consumer Market

 

| Market analysis to extend competitive advantage

First of all, we make an in-depth research on the report on mobile Internet user analysis around the world to understand the price, brand, the size of mobile phones preferred by users in different regions at a macro level and especially the demand for mobile phone camera functions. After detailed comparison and analysis, come out the unique competitive advantages of itel mobile phone in the African market. Based on the similarities and differences between the consumption demands of the African market and the south Asian Indian market, we consider the opportunities existing in the market transition and selectively retain, extend and give play to its original characteristic functions.

 

User research to define consumer positioning

With other brands preemptively occupying a certain market share, it is extremely important to accurately target the product crowd. By consulting relevant data and analyzing the length of time users spend in surfing online of all ages around the world and find that young people aged 16-25 had the highest degree of dependence on the Internet, followed by those who aged 26-35. They use their mobile phones for more than 3 hours per day on average (Data in 2016). Figures show that 800 millions of India’s 1.3 billion people are under the age of 35. About 65% of Indians are reckoned to spend at least 2.61 hours a day online. Therefore, young people under the age of 35 May become a powerful consumer group of mobile Internet in India.

 

 

However, the popularity of smartphones in India is still in its infancy. At this stage, the main factor affecting user purchase is cost-effectiveness, which has been fully verified by the market in the early days of China ’s smartphone outbreak in 2011. Therefore, this also applies to the current Indian market. Statistics show that among the mobile phone prices chosen by Indian users, smartphones ranging from Rs 2,000-5,000 (RMB 199-499) are the most popular among Indian users. At the same time, 70% of users will buy phones below Rs 10,000 (RMB 999). Obviously, Indian users are very sensitive to the price of smart phones. There’s no doubt that cost-effectiveness is the primary factor affecting Indian users’ purchases.

 

Based on the above research analysis and in-depth consideration, we finally locate the young blue-collar class with a large base and relatively low income as the main consumer. Most of them are new to smartphones, and many of them are still stuck with feature phones. However, it will effectively stimulate a considerable number of potential consumer groups after reasonable guidance and promotion. Then consumer demand may show explosive growth. Considering their average education level, there is more demand for entertainment and education. They also have specific preferences for taking photos and sharing them on the social media.

 

Competitive product analysis, local cognitive transformation

At the same time, we make in-depth research on the related competitors which occupy the main share of sales in the Indian market, focusing on the research of the Indian local mobile phone Micromax. Through in-depth analysis of its unique features and related data to refine the design of localized transformation design.

 

In the actual research process, we compare Micromax with itel phones. By studying the characteristics of Micromax hardware and built-in app, the system framework structure and special interaction form are summarized. Detailed analysis was made from mobile contacts, camera beauty, app market, shopping entrance, music app and plug-in support, traffic management, and features such as Micromax online doctor and more.

 

Furthermore, classify and evaluate the availability of Micromax services to summarize their advantages and disadvantages for later design guidance:Micromax’s product price positioning and functional services are accurate to meet with users’ consumption ability and needs. In particular, it provides a large number of search entries to meet users’ Internet search needs and attract a large number of users by providing localized services. However, Micromax also has the problem that the interface beautification is not good enough and the use of native interaction is not conducive to the transformation of local cognition.

 

Summarization of mobile phone system applications and functional requirements

 

Based on a detailed study of the Micromax mobile phone, the most characteristic drawer-type system main frame and negative one-screen design are refined and applied to localized characteristic application scenarios. In order to further understand the localized sinking interaction architecture and expressions, we conduct an in-depth analysis of its Indus OS system, which has the highest market share in India. Research mainly on the user’s high-frequency interface, shopping mall, SMS and other operation options, especially the process framework of language input and conversion functions.

 

 

At the same time, through statistics and analysis of Indian users’ mobile desktops and commonly used apps, pictures and videos are found to be in great demand. Communication and tools applications are most popular among Indian users. In addition, they prefer action and arcade games and are more willing to use simple and customary interaction methods.

 

A detailed analysis of the Indus OS system further proves the native applicability of the simple interaction mode. Indus OS mostly uses a single-layer operation interface, and the process switching is simple and clear. Swipe left or right to easily switch between English and 12 local languages. Simply copying text can translate between English and regional languages. At the same time, it can read the text aloud, effectively eliminating the language barrier during the use of mobile phones.

 

The system architecture and characteristic functional requirements are summarized into the following aspects, which guide the detailed localization design schemes thereafter:

-Negative one-screen local characteristic application scene

-Multi-language support for easy conversion between English and regional languages

-Provide localized special services

-Simple interaction, easy to use and easy to operate

 

Interactive Innovation and Visual Design Style Application

Based on the detailed research results, combined with specific product positioning and design goals, we develop the system based on the Android system, using the simplest form of interaction possible.

 

Most domestic first-line brands have adopted a single-screen operation mode. However, we find that Indian users have not accepted this interaction mode sufficiently. Therefore, we finally chose not to follow the masses but to retain the design of the second-tier desktop and use the form of a negative screen to better meet the needs of Indian users and try various innovations, including lock screen notifications, shortcut function settings, and optimize the functions of the main menu.

 

In terms of vision, considering that India is a country that likes music, dance and various colorful elements, we use rich colors to express the pursuit of colorful life of locals and create a familiarity for users. This better integrates into their lives and realizes the localization of design.

Summary and Outlook

itel entered the Indian market in April 2016. Data shows that itel phones have occupied 8% of the Indian mobile phone market in less than a year, becoming the third largest brand. The localized design further optimizes the mobile phone experience on the basis of continuation of the user’s original operation mode, helping them quickly establish new usage habits, which reflects the unique product advantages of itel among other mobile phone brands.

En
案例

itel|手机品牌差异化创新

印度本土化市场研究与用户体验设计

传音手机旗下品牌itel即将开拓印度市场,在国内外知名手机厂商已相继进军的背景下,如何提升itel手机的产品竞争力,实现品牌差异化创新?我们从研究印度移动互联网趋势及手机消费市场出发,帮助itel明确手机市场定位与核心用户人群,从用户关注的功能需求,驱动用户的购买要素,到竞品深度剖析总结,找到实现产品本土化的关键突破口,打造契合印度本土消费需求的手机体验,从而快速占领印度市场份额。

背景与挑战

印度,全球移动互联网增长新引擎

 

报告显示,全球移动互联网增量空间最大的国家多为发展中国家,且主要集中在亚洲。其中,印度的增量空间达到 75%,已经以3.25亿移动互联网用户数量超过美国的2.47亿,成为全球第二大移动互联网市场,仅次于中国。

数据显示,与中国从互联网时代逐渐过渡到移动互联网时代不同,大部分印度用户是直接进入移动互联网时代。在印度的全国人口中,有76%的人拥有移动设备(包括笔记本、平板电脑和手机),有趣的是,智能手机用户在印度全国人口的占比仅为16.9%。印度作为全球第二大移动互联网市场,虽然拥有3亿多互联网用户,但能上网的智能手机仍然不多,移动互联网渗透率仍旧较低。

 

因此,印度是中国智能手机企业和移动互联网企业最好的掘金市场,在智能手机领域有着极大的潜在市场。

 

对外来移动互联网企业和创业者而言,初入印度,需要深入了解印度市场环境,值得注意的是,印度是一个多语言多宗教的国家,宗教庆祝聚会众多,用户在线下交流分享的机会也大大增加,这种文化差异背景给品牌拓展带来诸多困扰,此次itel就面临着不知如何打造与印度市场环境相契合的产品这一难题。因此,我们从用户体验出发,深入研究印度消费市场的用户消费需求与偏好,明确定位,发挥优势,帮助其加快实现产品的本土化进程。

洞察与设计

印度手机消费市场研究

 

市场分析,延展竞争优势

我们对全球移动互联网用户分析专题报告进行了深入解读,首先从宏观层面了解不同地区用户偏好的手机价位、品牌、手机尺寸大小,特别是对手机拍照功的需求。经过详细对比总结,分析出此前itel手机在非洲市场中独特的竞争优势,总结对比非洲市场与南亚印度市场的消费需求异同,考虑市场转换中存在的机会点,选择性地保留、延展并发挥其原有特色功能。

 

用户研究,明确消费人群定位

在其他品牌先入为首占领一定市场份额的情况下,选择产品定位人群极为重要。我们通过查阅相关数据对全球各年龄层面的用户上网时长进行了剖析,发现16-25岁的年轻人对网络的依赖程度最高,每日平均使用时长超过3小时,其次为26-35岁人群。数据显示,印度13亿人口中35岁以下人群数量达到8亿,经计算可以得出,印度约有65%的国民每天至少上网2.61小时,可见35岁以下的年轻人群或将成为印度移动互联网的有力消费群体。

 

 

然而,智能手机在印度的普及仍处于初级阶段,在此阶段影响用户购买的主要因素是性价比,这点在中国2011年智能手机爆发初期已经得到充分的市场验证,在目前的印度市场中也同样适用。统计资料显示,在印度用户选择的手机价位中,2000-5000卢比(199-499元人民币)的智能手机最受用欢迎,同时有70%的用户会购买10000卢比(999元人民币)以下的手机。由此可见,可见印度用户对智能手机的价格非常敏感,性价比是影响印度用户购买的首要因素。


基于以上这些研究分析,经过深入考虑,我们最终定位基数庞大,相对收入较低的年轻蓝领阶层作为主力消费人群。他们中的大多数人仍处于刚刚接触智能手机的阶段,其中还有许多人仍停留在使用功能机的阶段,因此需要一些教育成本,但在合理引导与推广传播后,将会有效激发数量可观的潜在消费人群,呈现爆发期的需求增长。同时,考虑到人群的平均受教育程度与文化水平,他们对娱乐及教育有更多的需求,对拍照与分享也有特定的使用偏好。

 

竞品分析,本地认知转化

 

与此同时,我们深入研究了目前占据印度市场销量主要份额的相关竞品,重点对印度本土手机Micromax进行了研究,深入剖析其特色功能与相关数据,进一步细化本土化转型的设计方案。


在实际的研究过程中,我们将Micromax与itel手机进行对比,通过研究Micromax的硬件与内置APP的特点,总结出其系统框架结构与特别的交互形式,分别从手机联系人、相机美颜、应用市场、购物入口、音乐应用及插件支持、流量管理,以及Micromax在线医生等特色功能进行详细解析,将Micromax服务汇总,并归类进行可用性评估,总结其优缺点作为后期的设计指导。 

 

我们在研究中发现,Micromax的产品价格定位及功能服务精准,符合用户消费能力及需求,尤其提供了大量的搜索入口,满足用户互联网址的搜索需求,并通过提供本地化特色服务吸引了大量用户。但Micromax同时也存在着界面美化度不够,使用原生交互不利于本地认知转化的问题。

 

手机系统应用与功能需求梳理

 

在详细研究Micromax手机的基础上,我们提炼出其中最具特色的抽屉结构式系统主框架与负一屏设计,将其运用到本地化特色运用场景当中。同时我们对其背后的系统搭建支持——在印度市场占有率最高的indus OS手机系统,进行了深度分析,进一步了解本土化下沉的交互架构与表现形式,研究用户高频使用的界面、商城、短信等操作选项,特别是对语言输入与转换功能的流程架行了梳理。

 

 

同时,我们对印度手机用户的手机桌面及常用APP进行了统计与分析,经研究发现,图片和视频是印度用户分享的热门内容,通讯和工具类应用最受印度用户喜爱,他们偏爱动作类和街机类游戏,并且更愿意使用简单惯用的交互操作方式。


对indus OS系统具体的分析也进一步应证了简单交互操作方式的本土适用性,我们发现indus OS多采用单层操作界面,流程切换简明清晰,并且能够以左右滑动的方式实现英语和本地12特语言的轻松切换,简单复制文本就可以实现英语和地区语言之间的翻译,同时还能朗读文本,有效化解了手机使用过程中的语言障碍。

 

 

我们将系统架构与特色的功能需求提炼为总结为以下几个方面,指导此后详细的本土化设计方案:

⊙ 负一屏本地特色运用场景

⊙ 多语支持,轻松实现英语与区域语言的转化

⊙ 提供本地化特色服务

⊙ 简单交互,易上手易操作

 

交互创新与视觉设计风格应用

依据详细的研究结果,结合具体的产品定位与设计目标,我们基于安卓的交互模式进行开发,采用了尽量简单的交互形式。
国内的多数一线品牌都采用了单屏操作模式,但我们在研究分析的过程当中发现,用户对此种交互模式的接受度不够高,因此我们最终选择不跟随大众,而是保留二层桌面的设计,采用负一屏的形式,以此更好的满足印度用户的使用需求,并在此基础上尝试进行各种创新,包括锁屏通知,以及快捷功能设置,对主菜单的功能进行了优化调整。


在视觉方面,考虑到印度是一个喜欢音乐和舞蹈的国家,喜欢各种浓郁多彩的元素,因此我们在选择时采用了丰富的颜色,表现当地人对色彩的爱好以及对生活多姿多彩的追求,为用户营造出一种熟悉感,更好地融入到他们的生活当中去,实现设计的本地化。

 

 

总结与展望

itel于2016年四月打入印度市场,数据显示,不到一年,itel手机占据了印度手机市场8%的份额,成为第三大品牌。本土化的设计在延续用户原有操作模式的基础上,进一步优化了手机使用体验,帮助他们快速建立起新的使用习惯,在众多手机品牌中体现出特有的产品优势。